The United States of America

The Union States

The Union consisted of 23 states at the start of the Civil War.

The United States in 1861

The United States in 1861.

The states that remained in the Union are:

  • California
  • Connecticut
  • *Delaware
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • *Kentucky
  • Maine
  • *Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • *Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin

* Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, and Missouri were Border States.
The Border States were slave states that remained in the Union.

* West Virginia and Nevada were added to the Union during the Civil War.

At the end of the Civil War, the United States of America was once again an undivided Union.

Dr. Gary Gallagher Explaining What the Concept of Union Meant in Mid 19th Century America

Print Friendly, PDF & Email